Hello again!
I'm sorry I have been so absent for the last few weeks. Just two days after my last post we returned home to find water gushing into our house from (uninsured) neighbour nextdoor.

Everything on the ground floor was completely ruined and destroyed. We couldn't believe what we were looking at, there were ceilings on the floor and as they fell they had taken kitchen cupboards and shelves with them.

We were literally wading through water in the living room and kitchen. We couldn't keep the kids there so we contacted our insurers and they arranged for us to stay in a hotel while the necessary works were carried out on our house.
And there we stayed for weeks, every school day I bundled the kids into the car and drove for 40 minutes to get them to their school.

We moved back home about 2 weeks ago now, finally got the internet reconnected yesterday.

The difference in the house is immense!

Remember that new kitchen I was dreaming of? Well, it's here! The redecorating? All done for us. New carpets, sofas. Even a new fireplace!

Despite it being such an ordeal, we are grateful and viewing the whole thing as a blessing in disguise. The water really did ruin just about everything, if not the water itself then the sheer humidity afterwards dampened everything causing mould. All of our clothes had to be thrown away because of this. For us to save up and complete the works we wanted, it would've taken years probably. And here we are about 8 weeks after my last post with the works complete. Well, excpet the garden - that's been bumped up the list of priorities now though.

So anyway, that's why I've been away. I got my mixers back yesterday so I'll be putting those to good use very soon!


Thanks for reading.
Lots of Love
K xox



Leave a Reply.