We were recently on holiday (last week) and whilst we were there I purchased a dark wood wall unit. Perfectly normal to do such a thing, surely? My husband was not best pleased, but he seems to like it. It was an absolute steal at £10 plus £10 delivery charge. 


Anyway, the unit arrived here on Tuesday morning and it is a really beautiful piece of furniture. It has 2 large cupboards at each side of base and 2 drawers in the centre. The top half has a pull down cupboard with a shelf above it which now houses my books. There are two stunning glass doors, (one either side of the pull down) with dark wood beading detail, behind those doors are two glass shelves in each cupboard (I would have preferred wooden shelves but hey, for twenty quid.... I love it. I'm hoping to paint it some as yet undecided shade of pale. Cream perhaps? But not all cream, I want to leave certain parts dark as my vision says it will look brilliant against the pale shade. 

Perhaps even a pale grey colour?

I know Farrow and Ball have fantastic shades and an excellent reputation for this kind of work but I'm not sure my budget (husband) will allow me to use it. We shall see, I haven't even really looked into wood paints yet anyway.

But yes, I have a project. I'm in no rush to complete it as yet though. I have plenty to do before then, like decorate the bathroom and kitchen. Before Christmas if possible as I want to be able to have family round for snacks and treats and drinks. 

I absolutely can't wait until Christmas, only 136 sleeps to go. I'm trying to convince my husband to allow me to cook Christmas dinner for everyone but it's an ongoing uphill struggle as he prefers to eat out for this particular occasion. I'm hoping it will swing my way with the money issue being that there is not as much as has been in previous years. I have to practise too of course. I haven't really cooked for lots of people before, ever. Well...I did cook Christmas dinner one year (years ago...) but it was a serious disaster. We didn't even have a complete kitchen, the hob melted the base pan of my steamer. I'm not going to go on. 
I'm more experienced and that experience will never ever be repeated. I want to cook Christmas dinner dammit. I'm feeling festive and can't wait to trim the tree and bask in the glow of the fairy lights.

Aaaahh...



Leave a Reply.